The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a professional Twenty20 cricket league in India, known for its high-octane matches and star-studded lineups. Founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008, the IPL has become one of the most popular cricket tournaments globally. It features eight franchise teams representing various cities across India, each packed with international and domestic cricketing talent. The IPL combines cricketing excellence with entertainment, featuring top players from around the world, including legends like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and AB de Villiers. The league’s format, with its fast-paced matches, strategic gameplay, and electrifying atmosphere, attracts millions of viewers both in stadiums and on television, making it a cultural phenomenon and a highlight of the cricketing calendar.